It’s Summer!

The sun is shinning, cherry blossoms are blooming, and the grass is growing, it is summer ladies and gentleman! That means outdoor brunches, tanning in the park, and most importantly no more homework. After an intense week of finals it feels good to actually enjoy the weather we’ve been having here in New York. I’m no longer trapped in the library like a prisoner longing for the outdoors, I have my freedom, and it is called summer!

Although summer means going home to California, I did get to cram in a few of my favorite summer spots before I left.

First, I went to Central Park. I spent a whole Sunday wandering around the park taking pictures, people watching, and found the perfect grassy spot under the shade of a tree to read, All The Light We Cannot See. Nothing like a good book on a perfect summer day. It seemed like all of New York had the same idea as well. It was crowded but there was such a great energy, everyone so happy, so excited to be there.

Another day I went to the Highline. I wandered around Chelsea and TriBeCa for a while photographing the architecture and flowers before meeting my best friend on the renovated train tracks. The Highline is one of my favorite places in New York. It is an elevated freight train track that was abandoned and recently renovated into a public park. It runs from the Meatpacking District to Chelsea, it is currently expanding, and is completely elevated offering some of the most amazing views of the city and the Hudson. The charming tracks peak out of the wild gardens, the path goes between warehouses and high rises, there are colorful murals and food vendors and street artists. It’s a fresh new take on parks that everyone should enjoy.

Lastly, one of my favorite places is the Staten Island Ferry. Hold the scoff, I know sometimes it sucks, I use it all the time for my commute into Manhattan. Like any other form of public transportation it can be really crappy, rude people, crowds, tourists, busy commuters, all on one boat. Other times, it can be really nice. On a warm summer’s day, sitting on the outside upper deck, watching the sunset over the skyline, it can be pretty magical.

While people flee the city for the summer for the Hamptons or California, like myself, I highly recommend staying. There is so much to do and enjoy. The days are longer and offer so much, and the nights are warm and fun and offer even more. Take advantage of this special, magical time, because before you know it, the leaves will be changing and school will be starting, and summer will be only a memory.

DSC_0165
Boats on Conservatory Water.
DSC_0089
Guys scootering down the steps to Bethesda Fountain
DSC_0066
Child roller blading with his father.
IMG_0240
I was stopped by a photographer while I was reading, she wanted to photograph me in front of the flowers. I was having a pretty good hair day.
11076708_970802132931014_3824225815064294276_n
Another shot from my spontaneous photoshoot.
DSC_0102
Bethesda Terrace
DSC_0048
View of Essex House from Central Park
DSC_0099
The gorgeous tiled ceiling of the Bethesda Terrace
DSC_0234
View of the Brooklyn Bridge from the Staten Island Ferry

DSC_0040

DSC_0217
Little boys goofing around and enjoying the view from the Staten Island Ferry.
DSC_0249
My favorite view: the Manhattan skyline.
DSC_0263
But really, look how amazing this view is.
DSC_0272
My favorite lady.
DSC_0291
The birds chase the ferry, it turns into quite the race.
DSC_0294
The sun setting over New Jersey.
DSC_0576
Chelsea Market
DSC_0567
The yummiest looking cookies in the Chelsea Market
DSC_0563
Tacombi food truck
DSC_0561
An awesome sign.
DSC_0544
Mural on the Highline
DSC_0557
The train tracks peeping through
DSC_0533
I’m in love with this window.
DSC_0515
I really love flowers.
DSC_0496
This white door just seems so fresh and clean.
DSC_0480
It’s the details.
DSC_0475
Art is everywhere.
DSC_0453
ughh look at that ivy.
DSC_0426
You’re a cherry blossom. You’re about to bloom. You look so pretty but you’re gone so soon.
DSC_0420
But like, I really like flowers.
DSC_0404
I really want to EAT here.
DSC_0385
The buildings are so pretty.
DSC_0456
In love with this door.
DSC_0437
Even flowers have their dangers.


Leave a Reply

